My reading list

Look at me being all organised with posting… Ish. Hopefully someone’s actually enjoying this, rather than me finally posting, but aimlessly, and hopefully I’m not being too annoying. 

This post isn’t too creative, but I thought I’d go for it anyway. It’s essentially my top ranking books. There’s quite a mix of genres and eras, so bear that in mind, but even so, I believe these are all books/novels/plays/literature worthy of credit. It was actually inspired by a tweet sent out by my friend, Emily, who complained that she’d finished her book and said that she didn’t fancy any of the ones she planned to read, in her cupboard, and also by my friend Jess as both of them requested a list of book suggestions. It’s taken longer than I anticipated to post this, but it’s here now and I hope it gives others some inspiration for reading. Some of these books I’ve actually studied at school and either gotten excited about the prospect of studying them having adored them previously or found a love through studying them, and others have been recommended to me or I’ve come across myself. So, yeah. In no particular order.

I’ve put all of the MUST READS (or so I think) in italics. Pay extra special attention to them.

Here they are:

I feel like we should kick the list off with my all time favourite Author (who, anyone who knows me knows I have a slight obsession with… Shoutout to Lucy for putting up with me slinging facts at her 24/7), Jane Austen.

1. Pride and Prejudice.

2. Emma.

3. Persuasion.

4. Northanger Abbey.

5. Mansfield Park.

6. Sense and Sensibility.

6. The Beautifull Cassandra.

7. (Although it’s an unfinished works) Lady Susan, The Watsons, Sanditon. 

8. The History of England by a partial, prejudiced & ignorant. historian.

This one (8), is actually a tiny, cute little book. And not a novel, a history book. But it’s adorable and a must buy/read!
And now my favourite living author, Jojo Moyes. I really have been meaning to read more of her books but haven’t had the money or time, but here:

9. Me Before You.

10. After You.

I don’t know if it has to be said or if it’s obvious from the titles, but it may be handy to read ‘Me Before You’ BEFORE ‘After You’.

Now I think I may just randomise this, writing the title followed by the author’s name, but I had to put those at the top. My favourite books, though, are Pride and Prejudice and Me Before You.

12. A View From The Bridge- Arthur Miller.

12. Focus- Arthur Miller.

13. 1984- George Orwell.

14. The Handmaid’s Tale– Margret Atwood.

15. To Kill a Mockingbird- Harper Lee.

16. Othello- Shakespeare.

17. Macbeth- Shakespeare.

18. Hamlet- Shakespeare.

19. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn- Mark Twain.

20. Lady Chatterly’s Lover- D.H. Lawrence.

21. Old Possum’s book of practical cats- T.S. Eliot.

22. Frankenstein- Mary Shelley

23. Alice in Wonderland- Lewis Carrol.

24. The Help- Kathryn Stockett.

25. The Truth About Leo- David Yelland

26. One Day- David Nicholls

(27- 34 by JK Rowling)

27. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone.

28. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

29. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

30. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

31.  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

32. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince.

33. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

34. Tales of Beedle the Bard.

35. Just so stories- Rudyard Kipling.

36. The Book Theif- Markus Zusak.

37. Agamemnon– Aeschylus.

38. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time- Mark Haddon.

39. Perks of Being a Wallflower- Stephen Chbosky.

40. The Secret Garden- France’s Hodgson Burnett.

41. A Game of Thrones- George RR Martin.

42. Death Comes to Pemberly– PD James.

43. Animal Farm- George Orwell.

44. Strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr Hyde- Robert Stevenson.

45. Antigone- Sophocles.

46. All I know now- Carrie Hope Fletcher.

47. Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Acting* *But Were Afraid to Ask, Dear- West End Producer

48. Pygmalion- George Bernard Shaw.

49. Underground to Canada- Barbara Smucker.

50. The Three- Sarah Lotz.

Three books I’m planning to read:

1. One flew over the cuckoo’s nest-Ken Kesey.

2. It’s kind of a funny story- Ned Vizzini

3. Far from the Madding Crowd- Thomas Hardy.

So, hereee is a selection. There’s a few different genres etc and if you’re curious about anything, then feel free to ask more here or on Twitter! Hope it’s been helpful for anyone with a passion for reading but no book. Also, I guess you can say it’s opened the doors for you guys into a bit more about me from what I read. Thanks for reading.

If anyone has any book suggestions, too, I’d gratefully accept them! I’m always looking for a book to add to my reading list. 

Love always, Lauren xxx

 

Leave a Reply

