“One thing very clever.”

‘At a picnic on Box Hill, Emma “…demands from each of you either one thing very clever, be it prose or verse, original or repeated- or two things moderately clever- or three things very dull indeed, and she engages to laugh heartily at them all.”

We ask you to please entertain us with “one thing very clever”.

It may be a limerick, verse, anagram, drawing, puzzle, or any other diversion that you think will entertain us.’

Above, I have quoted the instructions found on a sheet of paper laying in the kitchen at Jane Austen’s house museum. Of course, I had to take on this challenge; I adore writing, and my influence being a quote lifted from a novel by the Literary Queen herself, there was no doubt that I’d participate.

On the spot, however, how easy is it to whip up something extraordinary. Evidently, due to what I produced, the answer is ‘not very’. You could give me all the time in the world, and i’m sure, despite being passionate about poetry (and many other forms of writing), I could barely produce something beyond mediocre, so a matter of minutes tested my creative output.

Baffled as to where I should even start, I thought a good theme to follow would be surrounding Austen or her works, rather than something totally unrelated, and that is the path I pursued. I also took inspiration from Ms Austen to mention social class, or an estate therefore implying such a theme, almost immediately. From then on, the pencil I used just flowed across the page, and managing, too, to rhyme.

The story of Anne Elliot and Frederick Wentworth. A very short poem by Lauren Curr.

Young Anne Elliot, of Kellynch Hall,

Dreamed of taking Frederick Wentworth to the ball,

So she distracted the men

Until his feelings were penned,

And nine years on, the pair were happy again.

Yep. It’s a very short, uncreative poem (21.06.2016), but I thought I would share it online! Indeed, it is one of the rare moments where I put my work ‘out there’, on the vast internet, for the world to see (aside, of course, blog posts- I mean a piece of creative writing, being poetry or such).

Maybe Austen fanatics will enjoy my attempt at amusing Emma, and the staff at Jane Austen’s House Museum, or maybe this piece shall be lost to the world. Either way, Happy Summer!

Oh, and if you do get a chance to visit Jane Austen’s House Museum in Chawton (or the many other nationwide exhibitions- I have, in the past, visited them, but would love to go back), I highly recommend doing so.

Love always, Lauren xxx

Leave a Reply

