National Poetry Day!

Happy National Poetry day! Today is a day that I hold dearly in my heart, as it celebrates my one true love.

Many people do not appreciate the power and the beauty of written word, but I think there is nothing more important; For enjoyment; To have your voice; To hear the voice of others. Be it reading or writing, prose, a play, or poetry, I value the study of both historical and modern writing much greater than my own life.

Poetry, as a hobby, is not only something that allows you to feel beautiful as you shape the words on a page to convey your message, but it is incredibly therapeutic. However, a significant reason that I write is to have my voice heard- Over a huge societal issue, or something merely important to me.

On that topic, this year’s theme is ‘messages’. The way I take that to mean is sharing a message, having your voice heard, participating in society to fulfill your democratic right. So, being inspired, I’ve written a poem.

Ironically, I’ve never had the confidence to share my poetry- online or even between friends- before now, despite writing to have my voice heard. I guess this is my day!

So, here goes. This poem is actually unnamed, due to my lack of creativity. It’s about having the freedom to, and fulfilling your right to, be yourself. SO, the message i’ll give you to take away from here is this: BE YOURSELF, do what you want, and love who you love. Don’t let anyone ever stop you! I hope you enjoy…

 


Freedom of choice is a thing we possess,

In theory, but in action it’s increasingly less,

The people around you have your future laid out,

But internally, those choices make you sob and pout.

 

“A doctor!” your mother will shout down the street,

And share your school grades with every person she meets.

Really, your passion and dream is to teach,

And it seems an impossible goal to reach.

 

Society tells you who you must love,

And some people claim that’s a message from above,

But you can’t reject the way that you’re feeling.

Why, to a girl, is a girl not appealing?

 

Your friends have a faith in which they strongly believe,

Yet no almighty power has come to stop you grieve,

Why do those of different faiths not just acquaint them self,

Instead of hurling abuse, or sitting alone on the shelf.

 

Freedom of choice is a thing we possess,

In theory, but in action it’s increasingly less,

The people around you have your future laid out,

But internally, those choices make you sob and pout.

 

If you want to fight society, then go ahead!

Being yourself will put you in good stead.

By Lauren Curr

I very much hope the rest of this precious day goes well for you. Happy National Poetry day! Love always, Lauren xxx

2 thoughts on “National Poetry Day!

Leave a Reply

