Work festivities

 Part one:

Written in OCTOBER.

6pm on Friday night, I was standing in the back room of my local ‘Lush’ store, sipping from my bottle of water. As the shop’s shutters fell, I emerged into the shop floor. The same shop floor would, in only a matter of hours, be transformed.

Over the summer, I got a job at my favourite ever shop (talking about how fatal that is, is a story for another time) . That’s right, I now work for Lush! I arrived just in time for the launch of all things autumn and winter- the two best seasons- with the Halloween and Christmas ranges just out. I luckily got to work re-merch, the day before the festive launch! It was a lot of work, but getting to arrange the shop whilst unwrapping the new products, like it was Christmas morning, was extremely exciting. There were also festive snacks, thanks to my lovely boss.

Even if I didn’t work re-merch, we did have Christmas training a week and a half earlier, which was incredible. I got to learn about my favourite products, in depth, whilst jamming to Christmas music. In September.  Don’t try to tell me that’s not incredible.

For me, Autumn and Winter are the best seasons, and seasonal launches (be it the re-introduction of Pumpkin Spiced Latte, or new beauty ranges) make it better. It’s been a week and I’m still filled with so much emotion due to ethical beauty products. 

I’m not going to talk about or review all of the products just yet, but I am going to show you what I’ve bought.

SHOOT FOR THE STARS, PUMPKIN AND NORTHERN LIGHTS BATH BOMBS, SANTASAURUS REUSABLE BUBBLE BAR
SUGAR PLUM FAIRY AND SANTA BABY LIP SCRUBS
SO WHITE AND AUTUMN LEAF BATH BOMBS, SLEEPY BODY LOTION, SNOW FAIRY BODY CONDITIONER, MR SANDMAN DUSTING POWDER
SO WHITE BATH BOMB
 

Part two:

Written in December!

It’s the first week of December. I am so excited for Christmas, especially when shifts are festive. 

I don’t think anyone is in envy of people who work in retail at Christmas, however, Lush somehow make the deadly-busy shoebox sized shop shifts fun. The music, the products, the smiles, and the change of uniform!

I have picked up a lot of extra hours in December, my number of hours per month tripling. Though, even though I love my job anyway, it is tolerable because at the weekends, we get to dress FESTIVELY. I’m very excited. I’ve ordered a Hamilton Christmas jumper, have a typical gingerbread one packed away, and have just invested in a Mickey and Minnie mouse jumper. 

So far we’ve had two festive shifts, so I shall share with you my festivities. 

Shift one- Saturday 3rd December:


Shift two- Sunday 4th December:


On both days, I sported my Disney jumper:


Who else is ready for Christmas?!? Some of my teachers claim Christmas isn’t until the 25th December, but I disagree. At Lush, Christmas truly started in October, before Halloween even ended!!! So, I’ve been in the spirit for a while. 

When does Christmas start for you?

Love always, Lauren xxx

One thought on “Work festivities

Leave a Reply

