body positivity, disability, education, LGBT, Uncategorized

A little life update!

Life is a fast mover, and there’s always something new around the corner, whether we expect it or not. Sometimes, it’s overwhelming; sometimes, it’s exciting; sometimes, it’s both. My life has come with a mix of all three, in recent times especially, and those are things I wanted to share with you.

Personal

The first thing I’m briefly going to share is a significant personal milestone, and one that makes me very happy; 1 year with my darling, Becca. We’ve celebrated all of our sentimental milestones, the first few months, from first meeting to our first date, and most recently, our 1 year anniversary of being together officially. Becca has changed my life in so many incredible ways, and she makes me so, so happy. She sticks by me thick and thin, and doesn’t fail to make my facial muscles ache from smiling and tummy hurt from laughing so much. She has much more confidence in me than I ever have had in myself, and makes me feel so incredibly loved and deserving of that love. She’s an absolute angel and I’m so lucky to get to call her mine. I have so much I could say about her, but i’m gonna take those words and message her with all the rest on a more personal level we share. Becca, I love you, and I can’t wait for all our adventures ahead, nor for the day I am lucky enough to call you my wife.

I’ve also established a lovely group of friends and learnt how and when to cut toxic people out of my life. I’ve always struggled cutting people out, so doing something like I have is a huge thing for me and though anxiety riveting and somewhat sad on some counts, it’s for the best. I also wanna take this chance to give a shoutout to my amazing friends who truly are wonderful.

Educational

So, recently, I graduated from the University Centre Farnborough’s Access to HE Humanities course, which considering how tough the past few months has been health wise, is quite an achievement for me. I wouldn’t want to toot my own horn here, but I did do pretty well…. which leads me to my next update.

I got into university! In less than a week now, I’ll be off to Royal Holloway, University of London. The uni has been voted the most beautiful campus and I visited it briefly last week to have a stroll around with my partner’s sibling, who also attends the uni! I’m super excited to throw myself into uni life, and by that I mean studying English Lit and Philosophy! I am very anxious about Freshers’ if I’m honest, as the party scene isn’t my bag, and I don’t drink or anything; I also have lots of chronic health issues that cause me fatigue, on top of ME (chronic fatigue syndrome). I’m genuinely super exciting about my classes, and have been working on my readings since I got them through!

Sexuality

Sooo… I now identify under the label of a lesbian. I don’t even know if this is correct or not, but I don’t need to know, or justify this. I have been working on the confusions around my sexuality for a little while now but I now most comfortably identify as a lesbian, rather than pan. Who knows if this will change, but it doesn’t matter. I’m happy. I’m homosexual. I’m in love. And I’m proud.

Work

I recently had to give up working part-time for health reasons. A lot has been going on, and i’m lucky for my workplace to have been understanding, but I was unable to fulfil my role and had to prematurely hand in my resignation. It was a good run though, and I appreciate the experience I gained!

Health

It has been requested that I post about my health in a full update, so this post is coming soon, and I’m hoping to do one either monthly or quarterly following this.

 


Life is ever changing and sometimes that’s a lot to process. Life is exciting, it’s anxiety riveting, and it’s scary. But I’m just happy to be on the ride and to see where life takes me, and how I can mould that (or sometimes how I can’t). I’m excited for my new adventures and… am I ready? No, I don’t think so – but I’m ready as I’ll ever be, so I’m ready to take it on.

What’s changed in your life recently? I’d love to hear about it!

Love always,

 

 

Leave a comment